What are you looking for?


COBA 2019 is proud to announce the following speakers:

Plenary Speakers

Anders is an active member of TEDGlobal and has keynoted at TEDx in the United States and Australia, was nominated for the World Economic Forum's Young Global Leader in 2019, and was the keynote speaker at the G20's Y20 Summit in Australia.

David Murray was CEO of the Commonwealth Bank for 13 years. Along with a number of private and public sector advisory roles, he also served as Chair of the Australian Future Fund and the International Forum of Sovereign Wealth Funds.

Diane Smith-Gander has served in a wide range of executive and non-executive roles including as a member of the leadership team at Westpac and Deputy Chairperson of NBN Co. Diane is currently appointed to the three member panel reviewing the capability of APRA, following the findings of the Hayne Royal Commission.

General Morrison concluded his appointment as Australia’s Chief of Army in May 2015. During a 36 year career as a soldier he saw operational service in Bougainville and East Timor and as an Australian Army Officer led troops from platoon level all the way up to three star General – Chief of Army.

Mr Byres was appointed as a Member and Chair of APRA from 1 July 2014 for a five-year term. He was subsequently reappointed for a second five-year term commencing 1 July 2019. Mr Byres is APRA’s representative on the Payments System Board, the Council of Financial Regulators, the Trans-Tasman Council on Banking Supervision, the Basel Committee and its oversight body, the Governors and Heads of Supervision.

Business Session Speakers

Alistair is the CEO of Vanteum, a Sydney based consulting firm that specialises in Digital Growth Strategy and Open Banking strategy for Banks, Financial Services organisations and Financial Services companies.

Anu is an international recognised speaker and panel member having spoken at over 30 conferences and events in North America, Middle East, Europe and Asia- Pacific. She shares practical insights on Risk Management related to Emerging Technologies, Data, Third Parties and Future of risk.

Brad Fox is an industry thought leader in financial services having led the Association of Financial Advisers Limited (AFA) as President from 2010 – 2012, and then as Chief Executive Officer from 2012 to 2017.

Claire Pales is the best selling author of “The Secure CIO”, host of “The Secure CIO Podcast” and Director of 27 Lanterns, a consulting company committed to helping organisations create and sustain effective information and cybersecurity teams.

In his current position of Head of Cyber Protection, is responsible for all types of cybercrime, financial crimes internal and external, AML/CTF KYC, Privacy and Data Protection. He is leading a team specialising in Cyber Protection, cybersecurity as a second line of defence, cybercrime and fraud education, prevention, detection and investigation of all financial crimes affecting the Bank also, AML/CTF KYC, Privacy and Data Protection.

With over 25 years of experience in senior executive positions, David has a proven track record in providing value and positive returns to a range of institutions across a range of industries.

Dr Michael Carr-Gregg is one of Australia's highest profile psychologists, author, broadcaster and a specialist in parenting, children, adolescents and the use of technology for mental health.

Jacki is passionate about the role finance can play in ensuring a sustainable and resilient Australia. Jacki recently retired from her Group Executive role with Insurance Australia Group and is now an advisor to the Group on Climate, Sustainability and Resilience.

Jean Kittson is an author, public speaker and commentator. She is an advocate for education, youth, health, equal opportunity and aging.

Jo is a market-leading capital markets lawyer at the forefront of developments for mutuals, with nearly 20 years’ experience in domestic and international markets.

Jocelyn is the Independent Chair of the Customer Owned Banking Code Compliance Committee.

Adventurer. World Record Holder. Average Teen.

Laura is Strategy Director at Mentally Friendly - a Product, Service and Policy Design Studio based in Sydney and Canberra.

Len joined CUA in 2012 and until recently lead the CUA Treasury Team with responsibility for financial markets, active liquidity management, interest rate risk management, and Balance Sheet Management.

Mark Worthington is the CEO of Australian Mutual Bank which operates the Endeavour Mutual Bank and Sydney Mutual Bank brands.

Sonia Reinhardt is currently employed by two Australian Member Banks of the Global Alliance for Banking on Values (GABV) - Teachers Mutual Bank and Bank Australia. She is the Senior HR Advisor and member of the GABV Secretariat in the Netherlands.